An opinion essay; Libraries - is there still a need such institution?

Libraries in the age of computers and internet

A composition answering this question: In the age of computers and the internet, is there still a need for public libraries?

It seems that the rise of digitalised book and Internet have overtaken the conventional libraries . Despite the advance of technology, I agree with the statement that the function of public libraries could not be changed.

Firstly, reading a book in the library have some own benefit compared to those sophisticated device which provide Internet program. Using these gadgets for the purpose of reading in a long time is detrimental to our health especially for those who have sleep or visual problem. Libraries provide you with an ideal workplace, without which your productivity would be influenced badly due to exposure to the noise .For example,artificial lights from e-books may interfere with our ability to sleep leading to adverse of impact to health. Furthermore, if library was destructed, there would be nowhere to preserve and exhibit antique books , documents and people would not have a chance to use these old materials.

Going digital is not always a good decision.For instance, some studies has been stacking up to show that reading on paper is more beneficial for you than on electronic screen, help to boost your retetion and focus. Using an e-book or internet to read may be trendy and convenient, but it has many drawbacks if you overuse it.

To conclude, I believe that the role of libraries cannot be displaced forever. Although internet makes things easier, people need library to gain more knowledge.