What, in your opinion should be the main function of a university?

Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

Universities as scientific bases play a great role in the scientific level and industrial promotion of each country. According to their importance, some people think that universities should be responsible for making a balance between the skills of the graduates and the requirements of the industries, while others consider the matter of science as an abstract issue which is unrelated to the practical skills needed in professional life.

The proponents of knowledge-based universities believe that having state of the art knowledge guarantee an unconditional success. They think that knowledge alone is the key factor of solving unpredicted problems and existent requirements of industries. In these people point of view, having extended amount of information gives the graduates sufficient creativity and acceptable capability of handling unforeseen circumstances.

However, the opponents of this idea believe that creativity and capability at work place is the gift of practical skills obtained at universities. They think that it is the duty of universities to qualify the students for their professional life. In support of this idea, statistics show that successful workers are skilled graduates from universities who has gained a deep insight into the requirements of their job at the university period and armed themselves with them.

In conclusion, for the sake of successful industry, universities had better focus on skill-based education rather than knowledge-based one. Selecting this trend, universities will be capable of training qualified workers who meet the requirements of a functional worker in work place.

(243 words)

This as another essay in this topic, would you please inform me of:

1. gramatical errors

2.structrual classification of the essay

3. did i cover the topic completely and correctly or not?