IELTS Task 2 - Opinion - The meaning behind traditional or religious festivals

Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals, during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Answer:

Some people argue that the underlying meanings of traditional and religious festivals are being forgotten, considering that most of us derive pleasure from enjoying holidays. While I agree that time spending for personal fulfillment should be appreciated, I do not agree that people no longer remember these festivals meaning.

On the one hand, positive vibes are the end of those celebrations, but to some extent, people are using them as an excuse for instant gratifications. People tend to be not patient enough to go through all procedures due to lack of time and even more, lack of interest. These seem to be the inevitable result of demanding working lifestyle, given the advent of globalization and the booming economy. By way of illustration, during Tet, which is Vietnam traditional festival celebrating the Lunar new year, people usually go shopping for clothes, gadgets, accessories then decorate their homes. Furthermore, some even book an overseas holiday for their families, to escape from urban noises. In other words, enjoyment is our priority.

Nonetheless, I disagree with the idea that people no longer remember origin meanings of celebrations. The key to any festival period is to strengthen the bonds within religious groups and families. To maintain such relationship, human beings, as known as social creatures from early ages, always hold celebrations in a variety of different ways. For example, Tet is an opportunity for family reunions. Besides a sense of nostalgia, we pray for a successful upcoming year, by traditional rituals such as making Chung cake, spring rolls and sticky rice, watching the firework display and giving lucky money to children. It is a particular aspect of festivals that make the celebration genuinely grand.

In sum, although people mostly enjoy themselves during festivals, I believe that they are still aware of the spiritual value of these celebrations.