IELTS Writing Task 2: Opinion over providing a wide range of young people with higher education

It is neither possible nor useful for a country to provide university places for a high proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

tertiary education importance

Essay:

Furnishing young generations with tertiary education is of paramount importance in government's policies. Some people, however, believe that it is not only unfeasible but also unuseful to offer higher education to a majority of youngsters. From my perspective, this idea is completely legitimate for the following reasons.

First, it proves impossible for the government to accommodate a wide range of young people with university places in consequence of the cost for pursuing higher education. As a matter of fact, the exorbitant tuition fee acts as a deterrent against the chance to enter university of many students, particularly in underprivileged countries. For instance, appealing and prestigious as it is, Foreign Trade University in Vietnam could have never been within reach for excellent students from remote areas, has it not been for the government's subsidies. This grant, as a result, may exacerbate the financial burden on the national budget if the government desires to allocate tertiary schools to all young learners, because there are still other aspects of more significance to make investment in, like health care systems or transport infrastructure.

Second, I find it rather ineffective to equip all young people with access to university. This is because there is no guarantee that all the graduates can make contribution to the prosperity of their country in the future. In this age of job competition, pursuing further education will no longer ensure people a job after graduation, leading to an escalation in the unemployment rate, hence the burden on the national economy. Additionally, if everyone could enroll in college, it might result in the imbalances of workforce as intellectual labours could outnumber manual ones, which is apparently detrimental to the economy.

In conclusion, I believe the idea of providing the majority of young people with access to higher education is undoubtedly flawed.