I disagree with the opinion that says always telling the truth in a relationship is important.
Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship.[TOEFL]
For me the statement is very hypothetical and robust.
In a relationship,the utmost priority is to be happy with someone you love and care for that person.
Caring and bonding often involves and requires harmless lies at several occasions.For example,when
there is a bad news like demise of someone closer to a person, the partner may hide telling directly
to the face this bitter news initially and just say that there is just an emergency and we need to go
to the hospital.After sometime,as the person slowly absorbs the situation,the actual fact can be told.
Lies can help in situations that affect the confidence of a person.For example,even if your partner hasnt
cooked up a new dish up to the mark,instead of telling what you actually feel,you can simply hide that and
just appreciate the efforts he/she put forth in it.
On a second thought,the base of a relationship is adjustment and loving the person as he/she is.
Always telling the truth about your likings or dislikings towards your partner lead to unnecessary fights and grudges.
For example,suppose the girl is worried about how a dress looks due to the weight she has put on recently.So if her
partner directly calls her fat which she is actually looking,it will obviously wont lead to anything better.
So instead he may soothe things out by just complementing the way she is looking and suggest to lose a few pounds.
Thus,even though truth plays an important part in your relationship,the risky fellow should be kept hidden sometimes.
Also,always lying will ultimately have a harsh impact on your relationship,a few belign lies here and there help to
cherish the relationship on a longer terms.Therefore,always telling the truth is not at all suggested.