In your opinion, what has been the most significant invention of the past 200 years?

airplanes - speed and safety

Transportation has considerably developed for the last 200 years. From my point of view, the most important innovation is the invention of the airplane for the following two main reasons: speed and safety. In this essay, the former and the latter will be discussed respectively.

Firstly, with regard to speed, planes have facilitated people's life by allowing them to move quickly from one place to another. Previously, it used to take a long time to travel by train, bus, ship, and subway, in fact, it was almost impossible for overseas. Thanks to aircraft, it has become much easier to travel around the world than it used to be before. In today's fast-paced world, moreover, this innovation has made education or business abroad accessible.

Secondly, to my mind most importantly, safer traveling is the other benefit of this invention. Airline journey is the safest way to travel by far of the others; such as railway, motorway, and seaway journeys because only a competent person is allowed to fly a plane and its line is always under watch by a control tower. Plenty of research shows that the aircraft accident rates are fifty percent lower than that of the other vehicles. The proportion of the reduction in the accidents cannot be underestimated.

To sum up, this essay argued why the invention of the plane is the most significant invention in recent centuries and why airline traveling has advantages over the other ways of traveling. I consider that airplanes are more efficient since it is faster and safer compared to other vehicles mentioned earlier.