IELTS2- opinion type: do companies have social responsibilities?

As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

service for society

It is argued that enterprises need to not only earn money but also be responsible for social contribution. I strongly agree with the idea that businesses have to do more for society than making money only.

On the one hand, companies must collect money by selling their products since the earnings are supporting thousands of people, including employees and their families. Furthermore, to account for a bigger share of the market, it is essential for them to spend a lot of money on an advertisement of service, discounts on newly-introduced items, and an expansion on their production line. For example, Nike used to sell their product only in the United States and accumulate a great amount of fortune. It was not until a bigger demand required all around the world that Nike has spent a lot increasing their factories in Asia, Europe, and Africa, making them the biggest sports companies.

On the other hand, being responsible for society may have a positive effect on enterprises. The selfless contribution to people can attract their attention, leaving a good impression on this kind of action from profitable companies. The reputation built from consumers may lead them willing to buy products and help companies to earn more for further investment on scales. According to a recent study, it is found that once a business goes through volunteer service to the neighborhood, the profit will increase by about 20%.

In conclusion, I believe that besides maximizing profits, companies have to service for society's good.