IELTS Writing Task 2: Opinions of the Constructing New or Existing Transportation

public transport optimization

In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Other believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Regarding the discussion of the money should be spent on establishing the new high speed rail train or making the existing public transport better, there are few pros and cons on the both sides. From my point of view, I support to build the new train system.

Following the growing population and globalizing world, the transportation plays a significant role to address the trend. The new high speed rail system is the key way to solve the increasing demand, as well as to improve the existing shortage of current transportation.

For instance, in my hometown Taiwan, we did have various transports, like train, buses and MRT and so on. After we constructed the high speed rail train, it provides one more supply of transports and helps the different group of travellers, businessmen and citizens to have more choices and save more times.

In conclusion, it is necessary to keep optimize the existing public transport which I believe is a long term plan. However, the fastest and the most efficient way is to construct the high speed rail train beforehand.