Oral communication plays a more vital role than the written one in our life

Is oral communication more powerful than written communication?

Oral communication is believed to be more important than written communication. I totally agree with this statement, and this essay will explain why.

People, who disagree with the idea that spoken communication is more beneficial than written communication, may argue that written communication is more accessible, as messages can be viewed anywhere. However, while it can be true in the day of old when letters are still the dominant way to get in touch, time has changed advanced technology nowadays allows users to communicate regardless of time and space; for example, within a click of mouse, people can make a video call through Facebook or other online apps to have a conversation with business partners or their friends and family. Therefore, with the help of technology, oral communication is becoming more effective than spoken communication.

The reason why I am on the side of this idea is because spoken communication requires direct interaction between speakers . Therefore, the negotiation of meanings during the conversation will be facilitated, which is crucial for mutual understanding and reaching the decision. Such a thing can still be achieved in written communication when writers devote time and effort to convey the meaning of the message to readers by using precise grammar and vocabulary . However, this process can be simplified in face-to-face communication with the help of direct connection; therefore, oral communication is more efficient than written communication.

In brief, it is much easier and more convenient to express ideas through spoken communication; as a result, oral communication plays a more vital role than the written ones in our life.