In order to succeed, it is better to be like others rather than different from everybody else

Do you agree or disagree with the statement: In order to succeed, it is better to be like others rather than different from everybody else.

We all admire the successful people. We always dream about that one day we might become as perfect as them. We do not have to worry about how to survive in this cruel society, we live in the life and enjoy it. In order to step on their path, we vigorously attend the speech they held to express how they achieve their goal and become the winners in their own life. However we are all different, their successful pattern might not be able to apply to us. For me I do not believe that we should duplicate any outstanding life pattern. Because we need to find out what we are really suitable for.

For example, once I really wanted to transfer my major to the department of law. I asked a lot of senior students, who had already succeed to do it, and enjoyed their new life in a new environment. I did what they told me to do, practicing a lot of exercises, writing down a lot of essays. But it did not work out, I failed, and all of these times I spent on it turned out to be a meaningless period. I fell behind my classmates who just focused on what they were really interested in. And I totally lost, could not find my way. Hence I understood the truth of success. Blindly following the path which not belonged to me is a ridiculous thing. Since everyone has their own passage to the success. In the end I went back to what I chose in the first place, and regain the meaningful college life.

Another example, I learned the meaning of being successful from the professor who is teaching in my original department. She was a prestigious student, after finished her degree in my department thirty years ago, she went to Stanford to study economy . She would have been an investment banker in Wall street, earning a lot of money, and having a high-classs level of life in Manhattan. Whereas she did not select the pathway which most of the graduated students in her department had chosen. She decided to go to Moscow to study what she really want to learn that had already been deep inside her heart for a long time. And finally she became the speaker to stand up on the stage to tell her story and warned the student she loved a lot not to be as same as others. She said that we have to be ourselves and do what we exactly aspire to be.

Through these things I did be sure that we can not be like others. Most important thing that we want to succeed is to figure out what we really want to do and being a doer to accomplish it.