Originality and thinking - GRE Issue No:2.

Originality does not mean thinking something that was never thought before, it means putting old ideas together in new ways.

Old Ideas vs New Ideas

I disagree with the fact that originality does not mean thinking something that was never thought before, but putting old ideas together in new ways. Original creations and ideas have always brought revolution.

The twentieth century is bombarded with complex technology which has become a part of our life. The fancy cars which have rushed the market are the products that have evolved from the wheel. It was the wheel which has brought the world closer and more accessible. Similarly, it was due to Alexander Graham Bell many sophisticated products like Apple, and Nokia have been made. These products are an amalgamation of technology and ideas. Talking about technology had Charles Babbage had not invented the abacus I think computers and micro chips would have remained non-existent.

Whether it is technology or other areas like music and books, original ideas tend to stand out and create a buzz. I have heard timeless classics being remixed and the original touch is completely lost. Other day, I read in a local newspaper that a famous devotional song on Lord Shiva being remixed with heavy beats being played in discotheques. I strongly feel that such attempts degrade Indian culture. I think when people completely run out of ideas they tend to pack old wine in a new bottle.

When people start thinking out of the box that is when the world starts getting benefitted. Repacking the old ideas in a new fashion can only lead to up gradation, but does not bring a drastic change for the world. I can remember an advertisement of HP with the caption "Computer is personal again". The company was apparently promoting laptops, but the advertisement looked as if HP had launched a new product. This is an example of how people can be misled.

Originality whether in the field of art, music, books, or technology can touch the chord of people. For example, if new methodologies can help in connecting remote villages across India it would solve many problems. If fresh ideas are rightfully implementated many lives can be changed. The word originality is derived from a latin word "origo" meaning birth. Birth can happen only when innovation can exist. Repacking bundle of old ideas into a new bag is not originality. Therefore, I wholeheartedly disagree with the notion putting old ideas together in new ways means originality.