Outline of the importance of confidence - feeling of trust in one's ability, quality and judgement

Write a composition (200 words) about the following topic: THE IMPORTANCE OF CONFIDENCE.

Confidence is the feeling of trust in one's ability, quality and judgement. It is the ticket that takes you to a brand new world. This essay will outline the importance of confidence in our life.

First of all, if you are confident, you will find it easier to express yourself. You can show people your natural talent as well as capability of working on specific situations. Confidence also helps you have more courage to speak in front of people. Therefore, everyone can know better who you really are and what your personality is. Especially in a group discussion, you need to be confident enough to express your own opinion, do not just keep everything in your mind. You have to be a voice, not an echo.

Second, being confident means you can have more opportunities in life. Indeed, confident people scarcely refuse a chance when it comes to them. Because they know, or at least believe, they can do it. They even seek for opportunity themselves instead of waiting. Meanwhile, people who lack of confidence are often reluctant to take the chance for fear of failure. They are always full of doubt and afraid. If this continues to happen, they will never be successful.

Third, it is worth noting that confidence brings about better results in study and work. Confident people tend to deal with the problems faster and better than others. It helps them work more effectively and as a result, more promotions. Employers want their staff to be active and to prove that they are deserved to have that job. However, if you are so panic that you dare not look into the eyes of the interviewer, you fail.

Finally, confidence makes you happier. You can make friends with other people with a bright smile on your face. People will find out many interesting things from you. You should not be so shy and reserved or you will feel very lonely sometime.

In a word, confidence, but not over-confidence, has many good effects on our life. Therefore, everyone should believe in themselves, learn to think positively because "if you think you can, you can." Try to be more confident and good things will come to you.