The overconsumption of natural resources. What are the dangers?

The world's natural resources are being consumed at an ever-increasing rate

In our contemporary life, the overconsumption of natural resources has become a topic of concern. This alarming trend has a lot of negative impacts our world, so drastic actions must be taken to cope with this issue.

Firstly, It is clearly evident that the increasingly high level of exploitation of natural resources cause damage to the environment. For instance, we have witnessed enormous floods in several region in Vietnam which swept away houses, eroded land and caused many deaths due to the deforestation. Not only that, it also has bad influences on the economy, due to the fact that the government have to spend much money and make an effort to rehibiliate damage after floods. Secondly, scientists claimed that the world's natural resources such as fossil fuel, water, and so on are limited, and the most obvious threat is that these resources will come to the brink of exhaustion. When oil becomes scarce and more expensive, transports and many daily necessity would become less accessible and affordable for most people. The shortage of resources also leads to stagnency in industry, for example, there would be not enough wood to manufacturing papers, furniture,... and not enough seafood for people's consumption. This may affect significantly the business of thousands of companies, as well as occupations of millions of people.

However, some measures can be taken to tackle the issue of over-consuming natural resources. The most practical remedy is to lower demand for energy in every household. The government should carry out campaigns and use various media channels to raise public awareness about saving energy. Besides, alternative sources of energy from solar, wind, nuclear should be developed to reduce our dependence on fossil fuel. In addition, for instance, solar cells are now sold in a small quantity and at a relatively high price; they should be made readily available and cheaper for the public.

To conclude, the overexploitation of natural resources may result in many serious consenquences, threating many industries and people's lives. Therefore, strong measures such as reducing energy consumption and altering non-renewable energy should be implemented to deal with this problem.