'overseas investment by companies' - IELTS Essay

some people think inviting foreign companies to set up factories in developing countries is helpful for improving local economy.while others believe that foreign companies should not be allowed to do so and local companies should be encouraged instead.discuss both views and your own opinion.

there has been discussion revolving around the issue of whether foreign companies should set up factories in developing countries. In this essay, I will compare and constrast two typical opinions regarding this issue.

There are reasons for some people to believe that foreign companies opened their branches in local country would be helpful. In the first place, these branches can contribute to satisfy people's needs for high quality commodities so that it can promote citizens' standards of life.

In the second place, local companies can learn more advanced technologies and comcepts from foreign companies , which can help local companies make up for their limitation and increase their competition. In the third place, it can bring more work opportunities so that can increase employment rate.

On the other hand,it is worth pointing out there are also arguments supprting the opinion that foreign companies to set up factories in developing countries would bring some negative effects. the main one may be aggressive overseas investment will affect independence of local economy so that detriment of long-term development. moreover, foreign factories will bring severe competition,some smaller local enterprises will bankrupt, because they can not compete with foreign enterprises.

To conclude, my own view is overseas investment the advantages overweigh the disavantages , but the government should also control the number of foreign companies in order to avoid the bigger shock to minor enterprises.