Pace of climate change, preserve wildlife - ielts writing task 2

measures to curb deforestation

Deforestation caused by human activity is happening in many parts of the world, with serious results for the environment. What do you think is the causes, effects and solutions of this problem?

My answer:

Deforestation has become the matter of great concerns in recent years. According to " The Guardian report in 2018", every second, a chunk of forest equivalent to the size of a soccer field is lost. This essay would discuss the causes, effects of the deforestation and also propose some solutions to the problem.

First of all, human acitivities are responsible for deforestation. It is estimated that farming, grazing of livestock, mining and drilling combined account for more than half of all deforestion. Moreover, forestry practices, wildfires, and in small part, urbanization account for the rest. Regarding agriculture, human cut down forests to grow foods and other commodities such as soy, palm oil and wood products. For instance, palm oil is cheap, versatile and can be added to both food and personal products like lipsticks and bamboo. Its popularity has spurred people to clear forests to grow more palm trees. Another example is the paper production requiring logging operations which fell countless trees each years.

Deforestation has brought negative consequences to our world. As forests are home to a wide variety of animals and plants, deforestation will lead to the loss of biodiversity. The amazon, for example, have the greatest concentrations of animal and plant species of any terrestrial ecosystem. As deforestation proceeds, the extinction of these species is unavoidable. Futhermore, according to FAO, deforestation is the second- leading cause of climate change. It not only remove vegetation, but the act of clearing the forests produces greenhouse gas emissions. It is obvious that trees play a crucial role in the climate mitigation as they absorb carbon dioxide which is exhaled by humans and the heat-trapping greenhouse gases emitted by human acitivity. The felling of trees would certainly obliterate all the benefits.

There are some measures which can be taken to mitigate the issue. To begin with, instead of cutting down trees for the aforementioned purposes, we should adopt sustainable farming practices, employ new farming technologies and crops to increase agricultural productivity. Moreover, trees should be replanted in cleared areas as the sooner a cleared area is reforested, the quicker the ecosystem can start to repair itself. On a personal level, individuals can take steps to curb deforestation by purchasing certified wood products, going paperless whenever possible, using eco-friendly products.

As the world seeks to slow the pace of climate change, preserve wildlife, and support billions of people, trees inevitably hold a major part of the answer. Therefore, it is urgent that we take measures to curb deforestation for the sake of ourself and the next generation.