Over packaged products and its implications PTE

packaging waste problem

Do you think consumers should avoid over packaged products or it is the responsibility of the producer to avoid extra packaging of products?" Give your views or any relevant example with your own experience.

Whether or not to shy away from over packaged products has always been a controversial topic. I personally believe that producers shall not take on the responsibility regarding over packaging and the consumers should continue buying this type of product. Therefore, I will be pleased to discuss two reasons behind this belief and then support them with my personal examples.

First of all, most of packages these days are recyclable, therefore there is no point to stop purchasing overly packaged products. This is not at all surprising, considering that an increasing number of individual people attempt to promote sustainability; consequently, most packages can be recycled anyway. For example, when I walk into my grocery stores, most of the items that I end up purchasing always has a recycling symbol on them.

Apart from products being recyclable, by over packaging a certain product, it will most likely be well protected which is what most consumers are looking for; no one wants their products to become defective due to lack of packaging. This is especially important to picky, detailed customers as most of them expect the products to be perfect and be delivered safely to their homes. For example, I always end up with defective items as the manufacturer does not package their products properly.

Having discussed the importance of over packaging products, it can be concluded that both consumers and producers should not be against overly packaged products as they are recyclable and well protected. Consequently, I disagree with the statement above.