Paragraph about saving a natural resource

I just started learning to write essays and paragraphs for school. I would appreciate any comment, correction and advice on my writing

Many parts of the world are losing important natural resources, such as forests, animals, or clean water.

Choose one resource that is disappearing and explain why it needs to be saved. Write a paragraph, using specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

With the uprising number of population, freshwater is gradually running out. There are a considerable number of reasons why water should be preserved. To begin with, water is crucial to every living organism on earth. About 71% of Earth's surface is covered with water; however, being one of the most valuable natural resources it is, only a fraction of the of which is freshwater. Up to 70% of the human body is composed of water. Not only is water essential to humans but water is also responsible for several essential functions within plants and trees, namely photosynthesis. Another reason is that water links and maintains all ecosystems on the planet. The more careful people use water, the more it is preserved in our ecosystems, which helps to keep wetlands habitable for animals. Á a matter of fact, of all ecosystems, no area is as biologically diverse as wetlands, which are home to a large variety of animals. In conclusion, while water is the most essential component of life, it is quickly disappearing. Therefore, water conservation is important to save life on our planet.