The effect of paying for high grades at school.

Some parent offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school Do you think this is a good idea?Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Students should be encouraged whenever they achieve a higher grade. However, some parents offer money for each grade they get in school as an incentive. Although I agree to encourage students, I believe giving money for each high grade makes students dependable and it is not a sustainable approach.

When a child receives money for getting high grades, she or he become dependable on getting money. In other words, if parents no longer pay him, the student will lose his incentive for getting a better grade. As a result, he becomes a conditional person which is not an appropriate personality. Additionally, this approach makes the child thinks that he should get better as long as his parents pay him and when his parents are no longer available to pay him, he will stop improving and become a useless person.

Parents cannot pay the student forever because as they pay him, he becomes more greedy and wants more money. This is a popular attitude in many individuals that make this approach inappropriate. This approach also makes the student ask for money for other things he does well, like doing his home-works or even going to school. As a result, parents cannot continue doing this forever.

In conclusion, giving money for each high score is not productive and won't make students an independent and competent person. This approach only makes them a conditional and greedy person which is not favorable in the society.