IELTS: parenting courses in school

Any comment is welcome, like arguments, paragraphing, links, or words ...

Thanks in advance!

Some people think it would be a good idea for schools to teach every young person how to be a good parent.

Do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Describe the skills a person needs to be a good parent.

In present days, increasing young parents feel overwhelmed when facing their babies. They have no idea on how to raise children in tradition ways because they work far away hometown and can't learn from older families. Therefore, some propose to introduce parenting courses into school. I personally support this proposal.

There is no doubt that parenting courses will get young people well prepared for being parents, because bringing up babies is very tricky. For instance, crying is the only way for babies to express their needs before speaking. As a result of it, new parents are hard to identify the reason and satisfy their babies. This may in turn causes adults lose temper, or even get annoyed. Obviously, classes in school can get young people well trained and easily handle situation like this.

However, these courses shouldn't be imposed to everyone. Youth have their own idea and have the right to choose whether he or she want to get trained in terms of parenting at an early age. Moreover, the major task at school should be gaining knowledge and skills and they are too young to fully understand the responsibilities of being parents.

In summary, I agree that universities should have some elective courses on parenting. Also, the content should be carefully chosen to be acceptable and the style should be well designed to be attractive. In addition, no one can be perfect father or mother, but some basic personalities are needed for good parents, like keen observation and patience, which are critical to understand the kids' needs and take proper actions.