TOEFL - Parents are the best teachers? No, it does not hold for every case!

Thank you guys for reading my essay. I hope you can read it in the most critical way. It will certainly improve my English writing skills. Thank you :)

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents are the best teachers. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I don't think this statement will hold for every case, but it is true in my case. We all know that animals start to learn by mimicking their parents; cubs learn how to prowl by watching their parents, eaglets learn to fly, and even a feral kid imitates his/her animal parents. Therefore we all agreed that parents do have significant influence on us, however whether our parents are the best teacher or the worst depends on whether the influence is good or bad. Some husbands beat their wife because they saw their father beat their mother in their childhood. Still others respect and love their family instead. Fortunately, my parents are indeed my best teachers, because they taught me the good values such as justice or ethic, which I should always keep in mind.

I remember that one time, in my third grade of junior high school, I was hesitated about whether to lie in my poor grade. It turned out to be I didn't. Because of a prompt feeling of guilty. I didn't know why I would have that feeling, but now I figure it out it was due to those good values my parents told me. I think one important reason why parents influence us so much is because we all need a pattern of thinking or behaving to reasoning or reacting to the world, and the first ,therefore the most, important pattern we learned is our parent's pattern. Although other people we met when we grew older might also have considerable effect to us, the influences from our parents are still the most influential.

In conclusion, I agree that our parents influence us the most, but when it comes to the issue that whether our parents are the best teacher, we still need to reconsider carefully, because if our parents influence us in a bad way, they will not be our best teacher but, in the other extreme, the worst.