Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for, and allow them to do whatever they want

Excessive indulgence

Subject: Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for, and allow their children to do whatever they want. Is this a good way to raise children? What consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they get older?

Some parents are tending to overly indulge children by adapting to their every request. This is not a positive parenting style and even worse, it causes adverse outcomes to young people.

To raise good children, parents have to choose an appropriate way. It is advisable that they keep a certain discipline instead of complying with all orders from kids. They had better refuse to an unreasonable request, for examples, to own a smart phone at the age of five.

On the contrary, too indulgent parents are considered to spoil their own children in some ways. Those who were used to being treated with excessive lenience may grow up taking things for granted and thus, do not treasure what they are possessing. In addition, although kids may be nice when their wants are satisfied, they will be disobedient and become aggressively behaved when rejected. Gradually, this will form a bad habit in young people. In the long term, overly indulged children are likely to become either dependent adults who have no determination to achieve their goals, or perverse and selfish youngsters who use every trick or even commit crime to get what they desire.

It is obvious that excessive indulgence has detrimental impacts on children's future. Therefore, parents should be permissive to some extent and wisely put a discipline for their kids.