[TOEFL writing] parents should encourage their children to do their homework independently

How Parents Can Help Children Who Struggle with Homework

question: Do you agree or disagree rather than help their children do schoolwork, parents should encourage their children to do their homework independently.

In this society, the schoolwork of a child is more like a load for their parents, especially in recent years we're having social media groups with all the parents of one class. Since some teachers would post the students who didn't finish homework directly in the group, some parents would choose to help their children do schoolwork in order to avoid shame. I, however, definitely disagree with this kind of behavior due to the three reasons below.

To begin with, let them do homework themselves help the children learn to plan things independently. When children study in school, they're not only learning about math or science and etc, they also have to learn about growth, including doing things independently. Schoolwork might be just a task for some parents, though it's actually also an excellent opportunity to teach the children about independence. From knowing the homework until handling it the next day, it is the children's work to arrange when to do it and what approach would be accessed to finish it in time. If parents offer help, for example, just because time is running out the next day morning, their children might have never learned about time planning.

Additionally, it would be better for their study of further knowledge and contents. One of the importance of homework is to help students review the knowledge learned during the day. Without reviewing, students could forget the contents of the lesson quite quickly according to the forgetting curve in scientific research. Apart from reviewing, homework could also contain some previewing for the lesson the next day, which means if the children didn't do it by themselves, it's highly possible that they couldn't follow teachers in the next lesson. For instance, I had always wanted my parents to do the previewing for me since that was really boring and difficult, instead, my parents always encouraged me to do it myself. As a result, I performed well in every new lesson and the sense of pride in turn inspired me to do better.

Of course sometimes, without parents' help, they could feel frustrating when facing troublesome questions while with totally no idea in their minds. However, teaching children how to cope with situations like this would be significant in their lives. Even if it's just a small homework that may not matter a lot, it is the process of struggling form upset and finally makes it through that should be highlighted as gaining a more mature personality.

To sum up, if I believe it'll be better not to help the children with their schoolwork for their good in planning independently, further study and capability in dealing with tough situations, which are seen as some features of an outstanding student as well as a person preparing to step into the society in the future.