Should parents be held responsible for acts of vandalism committed by their children?

I am not sure that the first paragraph it is strong enough.

I need an opinion! Please! Thank you!

Topic 5: Vandalism costs taxpayers millions of dollars each year. Some people feel that a great deal of vandalism could be stopped if parents were required to pay for damages their children inflict upon property. Should parents be held responsible for acts of vandalism committed by their children? Support your position with specific reasons and example.

The Vandalism

It would be a great achievement for everyone, if we could stop vandalism. Money spent to fix damages caused by vandalism could be used for education, culture, research, for example. Damages to properties could be stopped or reduced, if parents are obliged to pay for damages done by their children. Cleaning up vandalism on private and public properties costs money, and someone must pay for that.

Children's education should start at home; parents are responsible for that. At home children are educated by their parents or guardians. Here, children learn how to behave. For example, welcome someone who comes to their house, and respond to others greetings. Likewise, children learn to respect people and their properties. Children who have been poorly socialized by their parents are more liable to commit acts of vandalism. Their actions are partially their parents fault, and they ought to pay the cost of damages. Parents should speak with their children about the effect of vandalism, and the fact that someone, should pay. The better way to explain to a child what vandalism means is to show examples from life. I keep in mind houses with broken windows, ripped fences, or holes in the walls, when my father showed me vandalized places. It was similar to a horror movie. There, nobody was catch, nobody paid. The municipality repaired the houses by reducing the budget for next summer camp. Parents should be held responsibilities for damages committed by their children and pay. Moreover, children might understand that paying for reparation will reduce the budget for their toys or favorite games. Children need to learn at home how vandalism affects a private property and why someone has to repair.

Vandalized public places seem unsafe, and people will avoid them. Public places are vandalized by children that are unsupervised by their parents. Overtime work does not allow too much time for them to find what kind of friends their children have. However, as parents, they must have the responsibility of children's activities. People do not feel safe and will not return in a vandalized place. I saw a fast-food with windows broken by a group of teenagers. They were identified, and their parents paid for the damages. The owner used the money to repair the store. The fast-food was reopen, but run out of the business after awhile because lack of customers. Parents took the liability to control them. They attended to a few meetings with a counselor were youngsters understood the effect and the consequences of vandalism. As a result, I never saw in that area vandalism acts, again. Angriness makes people to act irresponsible. I remember, once in school, one of my classmates, was very angry. Nervous, Bob, my colleague, started to throw rocks in the school walls. He broke a few windows and light bulbs. Neighbors were scared and surprised by his act. His parents paid for all the damages, but a few parents moved their children to another school. This event made parents to take more responsibility. They have been leading their children to school and back home since then. There were no more vandalism acts. When vandalism occurs on public property, it is even more disturbing.

In conclusion, I believe that parents should have the responsibility of vandalism committed by their children. Everybody becomes more responsible when they have to pay for consequences of actions that harm others. Vandalism could be reduced if parents were required to pay for damages done by their children on public and private properties.