TOEFL Parents are natural teachers

Hi!

Help, please!

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents are the best teachers. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Although we have different teachers in different stages of our lives, parents teach us in every single stage of them. Unfortunately, not all parents teach the right stuff, but doubtless, parents are the best people to teach their children. They model for us, reinforce our academic knowledge and teach us the fundamental values that we can not learn from books.

During the first stage of our lives, we almost completely depend on our parents. In this stage, we are already learning from them. From here, they have started modeling for us; in fact, we learn to express ourselves, to talk, to eat, to walk, and so on, because we mimic and imitate our parents. Parents through their own behavior provide us with direction. Parents who do not act well invite their children to act in the same way. To illustrate, an alcoholic father is very likely to have an alcoholic son. Also, children of divorced parents are very likely to have broken marriages themselves.

Later on in life, children go to school to get academic knowledge. At this stage, the school's teachers play a crucial role in children's adolescent's lives. However, it is parent's job to reinforce that knowledge on them and to teach them what they can not learn from books, like discipline, respect, moral values, and attitudes, which they will carry throughout their lives. As an example, when a child has academic or social issues at school, parents are called to take in hand the problem. Schools have a team to help,psychologists, speech therapists, counselor, tutor, etc...; however, it is parent's responsibility to address the problem and help their child to go forward.

As adults, we are still learning from our parents. They share their experiences with us and give us insightful advices. Moreover, at this stage we realize and make conclusions about what they have taught us, which was positive and suitable, what our parents tried to teach us and we skipped or didn't pay attention. Therefore, we use all this knowledge and experience to rise up our children. As a mother of two sons, I have repeated a lot of things I have learned from my parents, while, I have rejected to do other things that, although I learned from them, I think they are not right or do not accommodate to the present time.

I think that parents are unique to be their children teachers. Throughout different stages of our lives we learned from them in a very natural way. They teach us how to live from the very start throughout our lives. They model for us, strength our academic knowledge and teach fundamental values Moreover, I believe that most of the time, without conscience, we act just repeating or rejecting what we have learned from them.