Should parents be responsible for teaching their children what polite and good behaviors are?

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

TASK

Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of the society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Answer

Some people believe that parents should be responsible for teaching their children what polite and good behaviors are. However, on the other side, people think that teachers would teach student about behaviors. In my opinions, learning both in family and in the school is important and we can not ignore one of them.

First, most human begins their life and communicates with people from family. Then, Parents are always the first human children see. Naturally, children learn action, behavior, and attitude from parents before taking education. Therefore, parents should be a good model of the society, because children would imitate their parents. Secondly, the primitive education affects children's mind most massively and even in their lifetime. For example, if parents treated their children badly and punished them with violence, children might use the same way to treat with other people.

However, school use the different methods to teach children how to be a good member in the society. Teachers not only teach children knowledge but also lead them to stay on the right road. By making friends, children would face with different kind of children and more complicated situations that they have ever met before. Therefore, when they feel frustrated and confusing, teacher can give them some suggestion to help them figure out and learn by mistake.

In conclusion, parents can teach the basic and potential behaviors and attitude, and teacher help children solve the problem about relationship and wider behaviors. Children might go wrong if one of the characters do not serve as a ideal role. Therefore, I think that both parents and teachers are necessary.