Essay: Should parents reward their children with money for each good grade from school?

children effort at school and the money

Children need rewards, every kind of rewards to recognize their effort. Some people argue that parents should not use money as a reward because it may mislead children to believe that their effort is only for the sake of money. However, I do consider it a good idea, for not only can children learn the importance of investment, but they also can appreciate the value of money.

First, children learn to invest money on themselves. Conventional wisdom holds that children were too young to learn anything about investment. However, more and more parents nowadays use money as a reward to teach their children how to invest their earning on personal improvement. For example, when I was little, whenever I got an A on my test, my mother would give me 10 dollars as a reward. She told me I could use the money to buy everything I wanted, but before buying it, I should think about how that can change my life. Therefore, I spent my hard-earned money buying myself a Webster dictionary. Because of this dictionary, I made a huge progress in my English. In short, children know how to use money to better themselves.

Second, children learn to appreciate the value of money. "Impossible," some will say. "Their parents would finally give in and buy them whatever they want." It is true that some parents are simply soft-hearted, making their children depreciate the value of their money. This precisely explains the advantage of monetary rewarding system because only by using it can children begin to cherish every penny they have. For instance, when children know they have to study hard to make their own money, they consequently don't spend their saving on whatever they want. Instead, they keep it until the right moment arises. In sum, children realize the value of money earned on their own.

The dichotomy is evident since some argue that children would begin to judge their effort based on how much money they can get in return. While this argument is understandable, the monetary rewarding system is a good idea because children learn to invest money on themselves and begin to appreciate the value of money.