My parents' shouting matches - UCF obstacles/bump in the road

hi!

this is really short

is that okay?

and it's also a super rough draft

tell me if it sucks :]

If there has been some obstacle or "bump in the road," in your academic or personal life, please explain the circumstances

My parents' shouting matches are always shaking up my house. Sometimes, I could not even finish my homework. My focus was always shattered by, "You keep spending but won't pay off any debts" and "I work the money, I can do whatever I want". I began turning into a very angry child and had a short temper at school. Little Gabby would often think to herself, why do my parents argue? Is it somehow my fault? I am so worthless; what can I do if I cannot even stop my parents from arguing? The only other thing I can remember about my childhood is just wanting to escape. I found refuge in volunteering and giving to my community became a crucial part of my life. I first used volunteering as a legitimate reason to be out of my house but found it to be a fun experience. Two institutions, Parkway Christian Church and the Broward County Southwest Regional Library, became my homes away from home. I loved the environments they created and in turn gave a helping hand towards achieving their goals. In helping others, I was able to help myself overcome the anger my parents released into my home atmosphere. Those that I helped saw me as an overall good kid that always gave aid with a huge grin on her face, and I have actually begun to believe it myself.