IELTS WRITING PART 2: buy product made in other countries

In some countries, it is now possible for people to buy product made in other countries.

To what extent do the benefits of this development outweigh the problems?

Economic issues related to imported product have been widely discussed over centuries. It's hard to ignore the importance of domestic industry and many politicians think that customers buying product made in other countries may cause problems. However, as far as life quality, environment and technology are concerned, I deeply hold that the advantages presented by this development far outweighs the possible negative effects.

First of all, some imported products can improve our life quality in many prospects. In most countries around the world, it's a tough work to establish an industry which can produce all kinds of things to feed our desire for a convenient, high-quality daily life. For instance, many Chinese young people are willing to use camera, TV and toilet manufactured in Japanese, which shows great advantages to improve daily life's quality due to their more humanized design. Had it not been for those imported products, the society would have lost some convenience and satisfaction.

Additionally, buying oversea products is beneficial for our country's environment because it can reduce the pollution from industry. In some areas such as chemical industry and agriculture, the air pollution problem is seriously concerned by government and it's essential to mitigate the environmental problems. Encouraging people to buy these kinds of products from other countries can drain these high-polluting industry's positive energy, and reduce the pollutants emission, which can release the pressure of protecting domestic environment.

Admittedly, there may be an opinion that if we buy everything from other countries, there's no need for us to try to make some breakthrough in technology or innovation. Therefore, imported products are harmful to domestic industry. However, if the public haven't seen the advantages of others or even ignore them, it's impossible to fellow the development of advanced technology. In fact, as international companies are usually excellent in their individual areas and their products can obviously show some distinctive techniques which are difficult for domestic corporations to catch up with, it's an opportunity for us to learn their advantages by buying their products.

In conclusion, I deeply approve that importing other countries products is beneficial not only for our customers but also for our country's development.