IELTS writing part2, congestion and traffic jams are a common and major problem in most cities.

traffic jam and congestion problem

Nowadays congestion and traffic jams are a common and major problem in most cities. Some people believe it is a good idea to construct wider roads to resolve this issue. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? What can be the solution, in your opinion?'

In the urban area, communities are suffering traffic congestion. There are some voices to argue the government should widen roads to solve this problem. In my opinion, I disagree with this solution. I honestly believe there is another efficient method to reduce the density of cars.

There are three key reasons why increasing road lanes to resolve traffic jams is not the better idea. Firstly, most cities are already crowded, in other words, there is a limitation of space for wider roads. Secondly, the construction mostly is a time-consuming project. For example, land acquisition is an essential task by authorities before the roadwork, and it may force some individuals to move their house. After going through all these procedures, it may spend few years to finish. Finally, the government has to invest a considerable amount of money on expanding roads, in terms of the complicated of work.

Rather than building lanes, I would suggest that government focuses on legislation for enforcing people to take public transportation instead of personal vehicles. Moreover, the legislature should consider the communities' budgets and commute time. For instance, they could use a mechanism of a monthly ticket to intrigue people take the train, metro system and buses at a cheaper price. Perhaps the government could, even more, provide the routes in discount period for public to choose, thus, they can prevent the crowded in some transports.

In conclusion, widen roads is not an adequate suggestion to diminish the traffic jam and congestion problem. Comparing to the roadwork, building the law is more efficiency, and it not only directly benefits to civics but also is more practical in modern cities.