IELTS: Part of nation's history - "Old building"

Many old buildings protected by law are part of nation's history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by ones.

How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Old building is one of thing that becomes nation's history. Most nations around the world have old building at least some, or possibly many old buildings. In my opinion, it is very important to maintain these, but this does not mean progress should stop.

We can find many old buildings that become nation's history such as temples, churches, palace, and houses in their cities, villages and surrounding areas which have historical significance. Preserving certain old buildings is important for several reasons. Firstly, these structures give insight to our country which shows how many centuries ago lived their lives. Because, without them we just could read history in the book or we just hear from our grandmother. As a result, with old building, we can see them. For example, The mosque "Baiturrahman" in Aceh, Indonesia. It is a palace king "Iskandar Muda" several centuries ago. Nowadays, this palace becomes mosque.

With this building, I can look structure of building from my ancestor king which it is very beautiful. If we enter to this mosque, we can feel condition calm. This building provide important income to my country as many tourists visit them in great numbers.

However, this certainly does not mean that modernization should be discouraged. I believe that old buildings can be protected in tandem with progress. For example, in many conditions we see old historic buildings being renovated whilst maintaining their original character, and being used for modern purposes. For example, Borobudur temple in Yogyakarta, Indonesia, we can look that it is renovated because for keeping this temples from broken. Also, in no way does history hinder progress, and in fact it is the opposite. By studying and learning about our history, we understand more about the world we live in, and this helps us to build a better future.

In summary, I believe that it is very important to protect and preserve old buildings as we can learn about our history or other countries. Such knowledge can help us to understand how to modernize our countries in the best way.