IELTS Writing Part 2: People are tending to purchasing stuff from online marketplaces

Buying things on the Internet

Write about the following topic.

Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular.

Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Essay:

Nowadays, people are tending to purchasing stuff, for example, electronic devices, clothes and accessories, from online marketplaces. In my opinion, the merits outweigh the drawbacks.

There are some considerable benefits to ordering products from shopping websites. For customers themselves they can easily access to a wide range of goods on online market platform. Furthermore, buyers can make comparisons of price, quality and customer services between similar products of many shops without driving to the stores one-by-one. Instead of that, they find it easier to scroll and switch tabs to find out which is the best for them. Another thing to concern is that online merchants do not have to pay the business premises rent (except for warehouse to store); as a result, the price of their products will be cut down and customers will find cheaper things on the Internet.

However, there are some potential drawbacks to shopping online. One of them is risk of getting lower quality products than shops' descriptions. This is because just can judge the stuff they want through edited photos and catchy advertisements. Therefore, online marketplaces are the golden opportunities for fraud and scammers.

In conclusion, online shopping can bring convenience to costumers, also it can ease the financial problems of both buyers and sellers. However, scams are the risks that customers should avoid from. In this situation, this can be dealt when seller platforms give a lot methods for buyers, such as shop rating, review boxes, refund-guaranteed products and whatnots. Therefore, in my viewpoint the merits surpass the demerits.