IELTS WRITING PART 2: Printed newspapers - some people say we don't need them anymore

Some people say we do not need printed newspapers anymore.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people believe that printed newspapers is no longer necessary in our lives. I completely concur to this belief owing to the advancement of cutting-edge technology and the fact that the disuse offline newspaper can protect the nature.

First and foremost, in this modern era, people can read newspapers online instead of the official form. Surfing on news platforms, readers can easily find a huge amount of news with various realms, from daily news like accident reports to articles about science innovations or political state in the world. Moreover, online news is always fast and up-to-date. As to printed newspapers, journalists have to spend at least two or three days to type, edit and print a magazine. In contrast, e-newspapers are produced in much shorter time thanks to editing applications and websites. Hence, people can access the news almost immediately when something happens elsewhere.

The second reasons why printed newspapers ought to be abandoned is that this action can contribute to the protection of nature. Paper is made from wood. Every year, it is reported that tons of trees are cut to adapt the paper industry. If the demands of newspapers increase, more trees will be cut down which attribute to several environmental issues such as: climate change, natural disasters or loss of habitat for animals. Thus, it is advisable that we refuse printed newspaper so as to prevent logging activities and save the forests and the earth.

In conclusion, I totally believe that the use of newspapers should be reduced and be completely replaced by e-magazines if possible. By doing this, we can save time and money as well as devote to the preservation of the environment.