IELTS PART 2 - READING PRINTED NEWSPAPERS/ BOOKS OR READING ONLINE?

In the future, nobody will read printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

(Write at least 250 words)

The technological and digital advancement has brought about numerous development in human society and apparently, media - communication is not an exception. The swift popularity of televisions, computers, smart phones and other modern technological devices has switched people's habit of reading printed newspapers or books to reading online without being charged. In my point of view, this trend will increasingly be prevalent in the near future because of the advantages of easy access and good savings.

First of all, reading online now is easier than ever when people can access to the latest news or updated books by utilizing smart phones or computers which are mostly must - own items for everybody. Comparing to commuting to bookstores, libraries or newspapers shops to get a real printed version, picking information online is much more convenient. Furthermore, by going online, readers are able to seek for specific information they need and even watch related videos or hear relevant audios, which is far more lively and enjoyable.

In addition, the fee for accessing online newspapers now is almostly free of charge while people have to pay for traditional printed newspapers if they have needs for them. In addition, it also takes time and money for paper delivering and distributing service, which is somehow costly. For books, there are currently phone applications and devices for reading books online such as Google Books, Apple Books, Watpad or Kindle in which you can have access to many books with minimal costs compared to printed form.

In a nutshell, online reading offers readers numerous benefits such as handy accessibility and low cost. I believe that this new form of reading will soom became prominent and gradually alter traditional printed books and newspapers.