Writing part 2 IELTS , SCIENTIES TO MAKE POSITIVE CHANGES TO THE WORLD

21st century innovations

Many people are optimistic about 21st century and expect scientists to make positive changes to the world. To what extend do you agree or disagree with their optimism? What changes would you like to see in the new century?

Nowadays, inventing positive innovations to the world has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this trend is not without disadvantages, the upsides will justified these.

There are a number of downsides of that trend. First, by technological development, which can put people at risk situations. In fact the development in the food processing technology is directly responsible for many health problems, such as obesity, diabetes and heart disease, costing a lot of money of citizens and the government. Second, since improvement in technology undoubtedly accelerates industrialization, which leads to intensifying the greenhouse effects. For example, intense use of artificial fertilizers or over-exploitation of natural resources has arisen, leading to environmental degradation.

There are a number of advantages that the majority of people want to see in the future. First, if the future of genetic engineering is advanced, a radical technology can be introduced to genetically modify plants and animals. This means that it will increase crop yield, which in turn generate more income to people. Second, in order to ensure for people's safe food, scientists will be able to teach a machine to find relation between thousands of poisoning cases. Plenty of evidence suggest that food contains many chemicals that is directly affect people's health, which is easy discovered by technological mechanism down the road.

In conclusion, it seems to be a fact that whenever a technology arises, there must be some problems that follow. When people are impressed by the benefits brought by a new technology, it is so important to evaluate its negative impacts.