IELTS WRITING PART 2 - working while studying teenagers

Some people say that teenagers should work part-time and earn money. This way they will learn basic lessons about work and become more disciplined. Others argue that teenagers shouldn't sacrifice their rest and after-school activities to work.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

Working while studying is a controversial topic and there are two opinions about it. Although some people advocate the combination, others strongly disagree with it. From my point of view, the young should early carry out part time work when they are students.

On the one hand, it is hard to agree with the idea of sparing time for two activities because studying might render students stressed if they lack time for relaxing, especially during exam period. This can be attributed to the reason that learners may have to face a heavy study load which includes tremendously complicated subjects. After spending a huge amount of time researching, teenagers should allocate their time to other resting activities which can help them avoid overstretching the nervous system.

On the other hand, there are several advantages while having a part - time job. Firstly, they may learn on the job then equip themselves with some basic lessons. It is a consequence of the fact that when a student is officially included in a company, he or she will have various particularly assigned tasks. Therefore, he or she may take a chance of applying theoretical knowledge accumulating from schools into practice as well as collaborate with other colleagues to solve his/her problems. The result is that they may comprehensive the abstract theories and sharpen their interpersonal skills. Secondly, it is said that becoming more disciplined is a precious experience students may have. This result may stem from the strict assessment in the working environment which is known as KPI. It might require the young to well organize and work effectively.

In conclusion, in spite of the fact that totally concentrating on studying may be supported due to its benefits, I am convinced by the opposite idea.