In the past, people wore their traditional clothes and followed their culture.

In the past, people wore their traditional clothes and followed their culture. These days, most people wear similar clothes and therefore look very similar to one another.

Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is common in modern society that people have tendency to choose similar outfits for their daily activities, rendering the disapperance of traditional clothes. Notwithstanding some positive aspects regarding to personal images, personally, I am more convinced that the drawbacks are by far serious and should not be overlooked.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that traditional outfits are often bulky and not comfortable outfits. For example, Ao Dai, which is a famous traditional clothes of Vietnam has a complicated designs, making them bulky and not suitable for activities, resulting in only being wore on special occasions. Another reason why people usually opt for modern clothes as their daily outfits is because they enhance people's confidence in social situations. In other words, more often than not people associate following the newest fashion trends with a sign of modernity, making people obsessed with appearing trendy in the eyes of others.

On the other hand, traditional outfits are more than types of clothing but representations of culture and identity, making them indispensible items. Wearing these outfits helps people to be in touch with their ancestral culture and symbolizes unity. As a result, let go of them will be like discarding their own culture. Moreover, if people wear similar outfits and become undifferentiated from others, they become confued about their identity and not have a deep connection with their roots. These implications could leave negative impacts on the preserve of national culture values.

In conclusion, although modern outfits bring convenience and confidence for people, the absence of traditional clothes leads to the loss of culture and identity. Therefore, I am an opinion that negative impacts of this trend outweight its positive ones.