IELTS Task 2. Patients' Mental Attitude towards Treatment

Please help me with this essay.

A number of different medical traditions are now widely known and used: Western medicine (using drugs and surgery), herbal medicine, acupuncture (using needless at certain points of the body), homoeopathy (using minute doses of poisons), and soon.

How important is the patients' mental attitude towards his/her treatment in determining the effectiveness of the treatment?

Health is a crucial thing for every single person in this world. When suffered an illness, medication is the direct solution the people take. Nowadays, there have been a big number of medical traditions widely recognized and applied like Western medicine, herbal medicine, acupuncture, homeopathy and many others. Regardless the classification of that medical treatment, patients' mental attitude on a treatment is regarding one of key success. This essay aims to investigate several reasons which base the importance of that mental attitude related to this case.

To begin with, although it is very hard to believe, Psychologist often says that what you think, what you will be. What I mean is whatever the kind of medical treatment we use when we get sick, our trust on the effectiveness of a particular treatment determines its result. I think this is the reason why someone who is not successful to remove his/her pain by consuming a modern pill, suddenly feeling better after joining an acupuncture practice. Probably he/she puts trust more on the acupuncture rather than on the ingredients of pill he consumed.

Furthermore, the conservative patients like most old people in my village, get healthy sooner if they cure it with traditional medicine. However, the modern people like citizens in big city, hardly feel any effect by using such kind of treatment. In contrast, they feel their illness can be released more quickly by consuming modern pill or other kinds of modern medicine. Again, it is due to the level of trust or mental attitude they put on each kind of medication.

In short, after analyzing explanations above, it can be clearly concluded that mental attitude towards medical treatment plays vital role which determines the effectiveness of that treatment.