Some people argue that college must be provided free for everyone by the authorities

Hello, please kindly help me review my essay, thank you a lot for your help.

Topic:

Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that college must be debt-free, irrespective of learners' financial status as everyone are worthy to be given their dues. Personally, I definitely disagree with this point of view owing to its adverse outcomes.

It is understandable that there are individuals who subscribe to the free-college policy as many students cannot complete their schooling due to their low social-economic backgrounds. These advocates believe that free-of-charge education would lead to more educated people, which contributes to the development of the country and society. This is a flawed idea since it can raise the youth unemployment rate as well as the number of people with degrees who will do jobs that they are overqualified for.

Another drawback of eliminating tuition fees is that students will take their college education for granted because they will not have to pay anything. These days, undergraduates have to pay for courses, which means that unless they want to spend another significant amount of money and time to re-attend those classes, they are forced to try their best to get good grades. In contrast, learners who receive the provision of free-of-charge education could be indifferent to their study if they have to pay nothing. For instance, they will easily cut classes or not bother to study hard since it costs them nothing. Hence, it leads to a waste of the national budget which is devoted to pursuing college without a fee.

In conclusion, I believe that education, in general, and college, in particular, should not be free for every individuals since the drawbacks are hard to overcome.