Some people argue that the juvenile offenders should be treated in a similar way as mature people

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that the youth should be acted in a similar way as mature people when they commit an offense. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this view.

On the one hand, the natural health of adolescents is inferior to that of adults. The reason is that their bodies are not wholly developed biologically as well as having to eat meals without essential nutrients in prison, which leads to a lack of sources of nourishment for the normal development of individuals. Moreover, when teenagers have to work at the same intensity as adults making them disabled. As a result, the young suffer from illness, emaciation, and even death. Thus, equal punishment has proven its harmful effects and changed the natural growth of a person.

On the other hand, the mind and mental health of immature people is not fully grown. In other words, they are not capable of being aware of their own behavior and the consequence of their own acts. This is the reason why all countries have a special court for young offenders called juvenile court. Furthermore, in sessions of this court where parents or legal guardians of teenagers who take part in illegal acts ought to present. Hence, there are different convictions that are utilized depending on the level of the cognitive process of statutory age.

In conclusion, although many people think that criminals of all age groups should be treated in an identical manner, I personally disagree with this statement due to the difference in physical and mental completion between adults and adolescents.