Many people argue that salary is the deciding factor when choosing a job.

When choosing a job, the salary is the most important consideration. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that salary is the deciding factor when choosing a job. To a certain extent I agree that money is important; however, I also think that there are many other factors could be more important.

On the one hand, It is true that work is perhaps our sole source of livelihood. Thus, getting enough wages to secure our family's needs is of crucial importance. If the money that we get paid is more than what we need, there would be a chance to save more money then, work a smaller number of hours and have more free time to enjoy. Therefore, the higher the salary we earn the better and the happier our lives will be. As a result, in a competitive business world with a vast number of job opportunities, I see it is logical that people should look for jobs with a higher salary.

In spite of the above argument, there are several other factors which are essential and need to be considered before thinking about money. Firstly, the nature of the work; is it safe and not harmful to the employee's health? Because it is pointless to destroy one's health in order to collect money, and there is no amount of money that can replace wellbeing. Another factor to consider is how will the employee be satisfied with this particular job. In other words, to what extent does employee like the job and is willing to do it for the rest of his or her life, because it is not easy to keep doing a thing that we can't stand even if we earn a lot from it.

In conclusion, it is important to have a job with a high salary, but there are some other factors that must be considered firstly.