Some people argue that spoken communication has more influence than written communication (IELTS 2)

Q:

Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A:

Some people argue that spoken communication has more influence than written communication in terms of delivering information. In my opinion, I agree with this standpoint.

There are many advantages when applying spoken communication. Since speaking does not require any material to be performed, the speaker could deliver his or her ideas immediately and directly to a listener. For example, during an emergency operation, the main surgeon must transmit his solution for the case by talking to others in his team, not by writing, so that they could know how to manage this urgent circumstance synchronically. Besides that, by speaking face-to-face, the speaker not only delivers information but also includes the speaker's emotion appearing on his or her face and through body language. Therefore, a speech would be more inspirational and would touch the heart of the audience. In every election campaign, the presidential candidate always has a motivational speech among a crow in order to persuade them to vote for him or her.

In addition, written communication has many disadvantages. Firstly, in terms of security, if the content could not be well-protected, it would be stolen and leaves the owner in a plight of losing the competition. For instance, if Coca-Cola's secret recipe for making its drink is leaked on the internet, all company's rivals would take advantage of that release to depose Coca-Cola in the sparking drink market. Secondly, written communication requires more writing skills and carefulness to fully express the author's opinion, otherwise, readers could misunderstand. For instance, this sentence "most of the time, travelers sleep in their car" could be totally changed in meaning when missing the comma, which becomes "most of the time travelers sleep in their car".

In conclusion, speaking is a better manner than writing in communication among people.