Some people assume that university education should be free of charge for all students

University education should be free to everyone, regardless of income.

To what extent do you agree?

Today, some people assume that university education should be free of charge for all students. From my perspective, I do not totally support this idea.

It is irrefutable that students derive great benefits from cutting college fee. First, people from different social classes are able to go to school. It is of great importance for disadvantaged students who live in remote or mountainous areas. Tuition fee would be no longer a burden for them so they can be relieved a gigantic amount of financial pressure. Thus, these students can make their all efforts to study and will not be distract by part-time jobs which used to earned money for tuition fee. Second, thanks to enormous number of college students, the countries may enhance the social understanding and academic levels in the future. The more students graduate, the more high-qualified employees are supplied to labor-market. In the long term, not only will it facilitate national education but it also make the economies flourish.

However, it is not without drawbacks. First, that universities will not collect tuition fees means that residents have to pay higher tax. People who are having a job have an indirectly financial duty regarding supporting domestic education. It will create a considerable pressure on them because not everyone is lucky enough to have well-paid jobs. Take Vietnam as an example, many Vietnamese employees are labor workers who only earn an adequate amount of money to make a living. They may suffer from some detrimental effects should the governments cut the college fee and impose a greater tax on them. Second, some students lacking motivations will take it for granted. They may neglect their studies. Therefore, it is feasible that dropping-out rate will increase.

To sum up, although this proposals have many advantages, they are overshadowed by the disadvantages.