TOEFL- How people's behavior is influenced by TV and movies?

How do movies or television influence people's behavior? Use reasons

and specific examples to support your answer.

Influence of TV

It is impossible to separate modern human from movies or television. I am sure if there was a survey asking - what would you take to a lonely island with you? - The answer would be the TV. So how the television influence our lives?

Television keeps us informed. Whether you want to know what happens in a remote African country, or if you want to know you will be wet because of the rain tomorrow, when you go to work, you can find these news or weather forecast on TV. You do not need newspapers anymore, because one need to allocate more time for reading than watching the same sized news, not to mention lively motion that televisions provide. For example, one thing is you are reading the news about the coup in Egypt, another thing is that you are watching live broadcasting from the place where the events happen. The difference is obvious.

In addition to news another influence of TV is through movies. Researchers point out how the movies affect our brains unconsciously. It is not wonder that Hitler and other dictators used movies as a means of propaganda. In war times, politics can use movies to agitate or prepare people for a war. Such examples could be shown from the history of the war between the USA and Vietnam. There were creation of many war movies those times.

In some cases, people watching these movies try to imitate the heroes of these movies. For example, when the film "Rocky" was presented to public, the boxing became very popular among the young. You could say how young people endeavor to look like the boxer in this movie.

Finally, television is a means of advertisements that are more effective and faster in reaching the customer time that other means of media. Advertisements on TVs urge people to buy things that in many cases they don't want to buy. For example, child who is fan of a basketball team, after watching how his favorite basketball player dresses boots from Nike, will have desire to buy the boots of the same company.

I could remain a lot of other influences of TV on our lives, like political choices in polls, advices about how to dress or what to eat, etc, but I think all counted above are enough to imagine the extent of influence it has.