IELTS: Some people believe that competitive sports have no place in the school curriculum.

Task 2 Essay: Some people believe that competitive sports, both team and individual, have no place in the school curriculum. How far do you agree or disagree?

Over the years, there has been continuous debate on whether or not to keep competitive sports as part of school curriculum. As school is a child's second home, where his or her future is being shaped, any issues regarding school curriculum are worth contemplating. Having competitive sports at schools, like most of the cases, has both pros and cons. However, in my opinion, it has more advantages than disadvantages.

One obvious plus point for having sports at school, either team or individual, is that it promotes good health. It is undeniable that exercising can prevent obesity and many other diseases and doing sports is the best way of exercising. Moreover, doing sports can release stress which is very important for children of today as youngsters suicide rate are getting higher and higher. Another advantage that competitive sports at school, when plays with team, brings is the valuable team spirit. Children learn to make friends, share their joy and have fun together. Striking for a goal as a team increases their collaborations and coordination. As a result, they are well prepared for the workplace where they will have to do the same, finishing projects together with a team. Last but not least, challenging sports have good impacts on students' mentality as well. They allow students to know how to work towards certain goals and also sharpen their leadership skills. For example, researchers have found that people who took part in competitive sports in their childhood are more likely to be initiative and have stronger mindset when they become adults.

There are also facts against having competitive sports in the school curriculum too. Some people argue that sports are time consuming and make students have lesser time to study. However, I believe that if students are taught how to manage their time well, there will be no negative impacts on their studies.

In a nutshell, after delving into the pros and cons of this issue, I stand on the side that competitive sports, both team and individual, should always be in the school curriculum.