IELTS TASK 2 : Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their countries

The negative perception of toward tourism

Recent years have witnessed the proliferation of global tourism in disparate parts of the world, yet many inhabitants contend that this industry can trigger some disadvantages to their nations. Some explanations for this phenomenon will be put forward before certain appropriate ways of dealing with it are suggested.

The negative perception of indigenous people towards tourism could be ascribed to a number of reasons. A major cause is that the huge influx of foreign travelers is often associated with environmental issues. It is common to observe visitors throwing wrappers, cigarette butts and other rubbish in public areas without considering the permanent consequences of their actions. In addition, air contamination is inevitable, which stems from the growing demand for transport between tourist sites. Another contributor to the negative attitude of dwellers is the likelihood of spreading infectious diseases into the society. For example, in Thailand, recently, a couple traveling from Belgium is responsible for a large- scale community transmission of Covid-19, with positive cases increasing beyond the control of the government.

Several solutions could be taken to cope with the situation described above. The most practical measure is to elaborate that international tourism would bring about enormous advantages for native people, therefore offsetting its remaining drawbacks. For instance, the authorities may levy taxation schemes on tourism- related services, and then spend this tax on public amenities or building a better welfare state. Another legal remedy is that there should be heavy restrictions imposed on those who pay their visit abroad. To illustrate, holidaymakers will be required to be fully vaccinated and carry out medical checks before commencing their adventure in the host country.

In conclusion, international tourism receives criticism owing to its irreversible damage to the environment and residents' concern over widespread epidemics. This phenomenon can be addressed by making the locals directly benefit from global tourism and implementing stringent regulations on the entry of foreigners.