Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer

Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the age of rapid technological advances, games, movies, and other techniques prevail over traditional books for children's play and study. However, several people say that watching TV and playing games are not as beneficial as reading stories. From my point of view, I utterly agree with the statement that children gain more advantages when reading.

Reading stories augments children's imagination and cultivates their minds. Books are filled with marvelous, beautiful stories helping children discover interesting things throughout single pages and broaden their minds and creativity. Moreover, those stories are touched and educative, which has optimistic impacts on children's mental health. It helps them to be more sympathetic and exquisite. Researchers have shown that reading allows children to train their brain muscles most effectively because when they read, they have to use more energy than they do in watching and playing games.

On the other hand, watching TV or playing video games sometimes can cause additions and misbehaviors. Credulous children are not equipped with full awareness of the influences of games and movies on their minds. Moreover, there is a wide range of inappropriate films and games for children out of parents' control. As a result, those things bring devastating effects on children's health, such as obesity, depression, and even additions. Recent content analyses of children's acts show that children who frequently play fighting and shooting games having more tendency to develop violent behaviors and commit offenses than children who do not.

In conclusion, reading boosts children's knowledge and teaches them great lessons. In contrast, films and games may lead them to wrong thoughts and actions or cause numerous diseases. Therefore, I support children with reading habits.