Writing IELTS Task 2: People have different views regarding the importance of robots in societies

Topic:

Some people believe that robots will play an important role in future societies, while others argue that robots might have negative effects on societies.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views regarding the importance of robots in societies. While some think that the benefits of these machines will make them an essential part of future societies, I strongly believe that robots may affect our lives negatively in the long run.

On the one hand, robots have benefited our lives considerably. People do not have to do manual jobs such as cleaning cars or packing items because robots can do them much more effectively and efficiently. Unlike humans, these machines can handle strenuous work for long hours without taking a break, and as a result, products that were once expensive can now be mass-produced and labor has become much cheaper. Additionally, people will have extra time to unwind or focus on other important issues. For example, instead of sweeping and cleaning the floor, my uncle bought a robot to do that for him and in the meantime, he focuses on his job.

On the other hand, I think robots can have negative effects on our societies in the long run. People will become too dependent on these machines and may expect them to do all the work, including the most simple ones. Some of these expectations are very bad because they demotivate and disillusion people. For instance, I happened to meet a few students who had an illusion that someday, a robot will be invented to do all their homework and assignments and I believe that these thoughts of being dependent on robots keep students from trying their best to finish their works. In addition, the unemployment rate will rise because robots have handled most of the strenuous and manual labor. This can lead to bigger problems such as destitution or an increase in crime.

In conclusion, although robots have some advantages that can benefit our societies greatly, I think that in the long term, these machines will affect human societies in a bad way.