Many people believe that teacher should not give students tasks to do at home, others disagree

(IELTS TASK 2) TOPIC: EDUCATION

Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Although many people believe that teacher should not give students exercises at home, others are of the opinion that homework has an essential part in the education of children. Personally, both sides of the statement should be taken into consideration for multiple reasons listed below.

With regard to giving children homework, people believe it is not acceptable for many reasons. On top of that, homework may become an invisible burden for children. After a long day at school, students are under pressure due to learning knowledge from teachers' lessons and taking exams. Therefore, they need time to relax and refresh their mind for the next day. In addition, students could lack time for other recreational things such as outdoor activities or spending time with their family. For instance, too much homework from school makes them stay at home to deal with instead of contributing their physical health by taking part in sports.

However, I do not think these arguments stand up to scrutiny as I am of the opinion that doing homework results in many benefits for student's education. Firstly, doing homework can create their independent learning and problem-solving skill. They have to solve with difficulty alone without the support from teachers and friends. Moreover, they could consolidate and have an in-depth understanding of what they have learned at school. Another point worth mentioning is that completing homework in time would establish children's responsibility for tasks they received. It is a good habit to finish tasks or work before the deadline and avoid laziness. This would be useful for their prospective career.

To sum up, there are strong arguments for and against giving homework for children. As has been outlined above, there are certainly cons to this action. Nevertheless, I maintain my original position is that homework has a positive impact on children.

Could you give me some comments for my IELTS writing, please? Which band can I get?