[IELTS] People born with talent or taught later

Topic:It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sports or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician.

Discuss both these view and give your own opinion.

Essay:

It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sports or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician.

It is said that every person has certain unique quality. Many people have definitive talent which they develop over years by training. While for others, they believe that they were born with it.

We often hear from many singers that they started singing while they started to talk. I remember Connie Talbot in Britain's Got Talent show saying she started singing since infancy. She was so little and her voice was amazing making us believe she was born with her talent. David Beckham, a famous sport personality, is also considered born with his talent.

On the other hand, there are many famous people who were trained to become what they are now. In India, classical dancers are trained from early childhood. In the US, primary school is giving higher importance to extra-curricular activities due to which many stars are born. Lionel Messi was diagnosed with a disease which would have stopped him from playing football. But with his long and hard training, he has now become one of the best footballers of all time.

However, I think the development of talent depends on the environment in which the person grows in and training is indispensable. Environment may be family, friend or even technology. But talent will not develop without proper training. Environment triggers interest and learning develops it. For example, a child of pianist develops interest in playing piano from early childhood but it's the correct training and dedication that makes that child a better pianist.

In conclusion, I do not believe talent is in born. In early childhood, it is the interest that a person develops due to the environment he grew up in. The person, with proper teaching and hard work, builds this interest to talent.