IELTS Task 2 - Many people buy products that they do not really need

Many people buy products that they do not really need and replace old products with new ones unnecessarily.

Why do people buy things they do not really need? Do you think this is a good thing?

A redundant habit of spending occurs people these days. Many individuals purchase goods and change their old item though it is still functioning. This happens because of several possible reasons and I oppose this behaviour last longer.

This unwise action occurs because of some reasons, particularly in cultural consumption which is the main reason. This is because people will never satisfy with all of their goods and they always want to spend their money in order to obtain newer items for several reasons such as to follow the trends. In China, for instance, the ownership period of a mobile phone for individual is short, around 1 or 2 years. They buy a new mobile phone because they think that the older one is already obsolete. As a result, the number of purchases in mobile phone in China is one of the highest in the world. Consequently, following the trend or feeling of never satisfied will lead to cultural consumption.

This inappropriate act have to be reduced. People should convert their expenditure to others which is truly needed and this makes money become worthy. For example, it is better for people to save their for future needs, as precaution because it may be unpredictable, instead of buying a new mobile phone which does not give much difference in life. Individuals will be more wise in using their money and reduce the number of waste. Therefore, buying unnecessary items is not a wise actions.

To conclude, it is clear that unnecessary purchases caused by a habit of consuming is very serious and I consider it as acts of impropriety. People have to realize that their habit must be changed and make their money to be more worthy.